

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

<u>New Delhi : July 30, 2007 -</u> Leading news broadcasters of India have come together to form the News Broadcasters Association (NBA). The Broadcasters are TV Today Network Ltd (Aajtak, Headlines Today, Delhi Aajtak & Tez), NDTV Limited (NDTV24X7, NDTV India & NDTV Profit) Times Global Broadcasting Company Ltd (Times Now), TV18 Group(Television Eighteen India Limited (CNBC TV18, CNBC (Awaaz), Global Broadcast News Limited (CNN-IBN & IBN7) & Media Content & Communication Services Prvt Ltd, (Star News, Star Ananda & Star Majha) Independent News Service Prvt Ltd(India TV) & Zee News Ltd (Zee News, Zee Business, Zee 24 Taas & 25 Ghanta).

The vision of NBA is to help create & nurture an environment in which news broadcasters can best serve audiences and contribute to the development and diversity of the country. The NBA will engage with policy makers on behalf of its members in order to promote an industry grounded in the principles of democracy and freedom of expression. This initiative will help to further promote the broadcaster's role as an important contributor to the country's cultural, social and economic fabric.

The NBA will help members to chart a course that facilitates news broadcasters in responding to the rapid socio-economic changes in the country, and in taking advantage of the opportunities ushered in by economic growth as well as new technology. To this end the NBA will concern itself with ethical, technical, operational, regulatory and legal issues affecting news and current affairs channels.

The Association is headquartered in New Delhi and has been registered as a Section 25 company under the Companies Act.

At the first Board meeting held on 25th July 2007 the first Board has been constituted & the office bearers have been elected for the year 2007-08.

The Board members of the NBA are:

- 1. Mr G. Krishnan, Executive Director & CEO, TV Today Network Ltd
- 2. Mr Sameer Manchanda, Joint Managing Director, Global Broadcast News Ltd
- 3. Mr K.V.L.Narayan Rao, Group CEO NDTV Limited
- 4. Mr Sunil Lulla, CEO, Times Global Broadcasting Company Ltd
- 5 Mr Chintamani Rao, CEO, Independent News Service Prvt Ltd
- 6. Mr Harish Doraiswamy, CEO, Zee News Ltd &
- 7. Mr Uday Shanker, CEO, Media Content & Communication Services Prvt Ltd.

The Office Bearers elected for the year 2007-08 are:

- 1. Mr G. Krishnan, President
- 2. Mr Sameer Manchanda, Vice President &
- 3. Mr K.V.L. Narayan Rao, Honorary Treasurer

Ms Annie Joseph has been appointed the Secretary General of the News Broadcasters Association.

Annie Joseph Secretary General